US Cycling Hall of Fame-Inductees 2012

Did you know there was a US Cycling Hall of Fame? I didn’t. Well it’s in Davis California and they just announced the 4 cycling legend inductees for November, 2012.

Here is more:

Four legendary members of the cycling world will be inducted into the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame on November 3rd, 2012.

The four honorees represent several disciplines of the sport of cycling and span a 50-year horizon. The inductees are Erin Hartwell (Modern Road & Track Competitor), Susan DeMattei (Off-Road Competitor), Rob Parsons (Veteran Road & Track Competitor), and Tom Ritchey (Contributor to the Sport). With the Class of 2012, there are now a total of 136 Inductees in the Hall of Fame.

“The U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame is proud to honor these individuals,” said Hall of Fame Board President Anthony Costello. “These individuals were selected because of their accomplishments in the sport of cycling and their induction into the Hall of Fame will serve as a perpetual reminder of their dedication and sacrifice to the sport.

The November 3rd Induction Ceremony will be held in Davis, CA, home of the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame now boasts 8,000 sq-ft of exhibits that tell the story of American cycling history via inductee memorabilia and a collection of bicycles from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. There will be a number of celebratory events during induction weekend culminating with the Induction Ceremony & Dinner for the Class of 2012. Early-bird tickets are now available at: 2012 Ticket Sales.

Class of 2012 Overview:

Tom Ritchey, a luminary of the sport, Tom is best known for his role in the birth and growth of mountain biking. He helped establish the commercial viability of the mountain bike, advanced frame design & geometry, and redesigned nearly every component on the traditional bicycle to optimize it for the new sport of mountain biking.

Erin Hartwell, a 3-time Olympian with silver and bronze medals, Erin was a dominant force on the track for over a decade. He is also a 12-time U.S. National Champion who represented America around the world at the Pan American Games, Goodwill Games, and World Championships.

Susan DeMattei, won America’s first Olympic medal in mountain biking at the Atlanta Games in 1996. Susan also took the silver medal at the 1994 World Mountain Bike Championships in Vail Colorado. From 1990 through 1996 she finished on the podium in the National Championship Series every year except one.

Rob Parsons, National Road Champion and Olympic Team member, Rob is also recognized for victories in many of North America’s greatest races including the Nevada City Classic, a race he won 5 years in a row between 1963 and 1967.

The U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame selects inductees for the following categories: Veteran Road & Track Competitor (1970 & Prior), Modern Road & Track Competitor (1971 – Present), Off-Road Competitor (Mountain, Cyclocross, or BMX), and Contributor to the Sport. Anyone can submit a nomination.

About the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame
The U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame is a 501c3 non-profit organization dedicated to recognizing American competitive cyclists and contributors to the sport for their significant achievements. Its mission is to preserve the history of American cycling in order to educate people about the past and encourage them to participate in the future of the sport. Encouraging all levels of cycling, the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame promotes cycling development and fitness.

For more information about the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame and its Inductees click here.

Comments are closed.